• Magic: The Gathering
  • Magic: The Gathering Online

Which game do you want to buy from?

How to Buy at a Glance

  • 1. Search for items
  • 2. Purchase via PayPal or CC
  • 3. Receive items in the mail
    (usually in less than a week!)
Want Magic prices from CardShark.com on your Mobile device? - Try the Decked Builder app

CardShark Content - Enrique Huerta (12/8/2002)

Hello All!!

Earlier this week, Decipher released the latest FAQ document for the Lord of the Rings: TCG. This is the first FAQ to be release since the Two Towers expansion hit the tournament scene. As such, that are a lot of new rulings in this month's FAQ. This article is intended to look at each new ruling and help explain them to a clear concise manner. (Hopefully!) (=

The twilight token added for the cost of this card
adds to the strength bonus provided by its effect.
Example: If the twilight pool is empty when this card
is played, Gandalf is strength +1.

This question came up because of the various Gandalf culture cards thatrequire you to spot X twilight in the pool before you can play the event. To top things off, the events usually cost X twilight themselves, so players are often questioning whether or not the twilight cost of the event is played first, therefore the event will always work. For example, look at Deep In Thought from the Realms of the Elf-lords set.

Maneuver: Spot Gandalf and 4 twilight tokens to discard
all Shadow conditions.

Deep in Thought requires you to spot 4 twilight, and it costs 4 twilight to play. This is the difference between a cost and a requirement. In order to play a card you must first fulfill all requirements of the card first, and then pay the costs. Finally, you fulfill all of the effects of the card as possible. Deep in Thought has a requirement of spotting Gandalf and 4 twilight tokens. This means the 4 tokens must be in the twilight pool BEFORE you pay the cost (4 twilight) of the card.

Back to the FAQ! (= Under the Living Earth does not have a requirement. It simply states, ´´Skirmish: Make Gandalf strength +1 for each twilight token you spot (limit +5).´´ So in order to play the card you must first pay the cost (1 twilight) before you get the effects of the card. The twilight added from the cost would be in the pool when the effect of the card spots the tokens. As you can see, I can make this very confusing and an FAQ entry was needed just in case. (=

This card allows all allies to take wounds from
archery fire.

Come Down states ´´Archery: Spot 2 [Isengard] archers to make allies take wounds from archery fire instead of companions.´´ Although Come Down
specifies that allies must take the archery wounds, it does not specific
that the allies must be participating in archery fire and skirmishes in
order to be assigned the wounds. Normally, only allies that are
participating in archery fire may take archery wounds at a site. This FAQ
entry clarifies that all allies, whether they are participating in archery fire or not, may take the archery wounds.

´´Rosie, I will always remember you on my travels... and can you please take this arrow from Lurtz for me?´´ - Sam from a deleted scene on the
Super-Special Extended Collectors Edition of the LOTR: Fellowship of the
Ring DVD. (=

This card’s special ability makes the twilight cost of
an Uruk-hai that–1 for each Uruk-hai you spot other
than this card.

I think a lot of players guessed that the Uruk Regular would have an
entry in the new FAQ, but I wonder how many thought the entry would be this one. (= This entry is to clarify the meaning of the word ´´other´´ in the Regular's gametext. This entry clarifies that the ´´other´´ is in reference to the Uruk Regular itself, not the Uruk-hai that's being played and not the card title ´´Uruk Regular´´. Yes, 4 Uruk Regulars can mean 4 free 3 Cost Uruk-hai!!!

This card may not be played in multiplayer games.

Don't even get me started... It would take me an entire article to
explain this one. Oh wait! I did write an entire article to explain this
entry. (= Be sure give that article a read too, when it’s posted.

The foil version of this card has a different image
from the non-foil version.

This is just one of those printing error clarifications we get in an FAQ document from time to time. Late in the printing process the picture of the Southron Fighter was changed. The change was in time, and all versions of the Southron Fighter has the correct picture. However, the change was missed for the foil print run and all of the foil Southron Fighter cards had a different image. The gametext and everything else about the card is correct, it's just the image that was different.

So to clarify, whether you have the foil or non-foil version of the card, they are both considered the same for gameplay purposes. The correct image has been set for the foil print, and when Decipher decides to print off anouther set the new foils will have the same image as the non-foil cards.
On a side note, if anyone wishes to trade their Southron Fighter foils,
please contact me! (=

Each [Rohan] ally participates in archery fire and
skirmishes at this site as if this were his or her home

Normally an ally may only participate in archery fire and skirmishes if the fellowship is at the ally's home site or a card's gametext allows them to participate. If the fellowship is at the home site of the ally,
participation is not optional. (Althought that doesn't mean you HAVE to
assign wounds to them or make them skirmish.) When it's a card's gametext
that makes them fight it's usually optional. (Again, you don't HAVE to
assign archery wounds to them or assign them to skirmishes.)

In the case of the Great Hall, [Rohan] allies participate in archery fire and skirmishes as if the fellowship was at their home site. (AGAIN! You don't have to assugn archery wounds to them or assign them to skirmishes.) So this means that if the minions outnumber the companions in the fellowship and the Shadow player wanted to beat up on some site 4T [Rohan] allies, they would be able to.

´´Guma, I will always remember you on my travels... and can you please take this skirmish with Lurtz for me?´´ - Eowyn from a deleted scene on the Super-Special Extended Collectors Edition of the LOTR: Two Towers DVD. (=

actions – timing
All required actions responding to a particular trigger
are performed before any optional actions. (This rule
was inadvertently omitted from the Two Towers

Leaving rules out of the rulebook has been determined to be a bad thing. (=

leaving play
When a card leaves play for any reason, any cards
played on that card (or borne by or stacked on that
card) are discarded. Exception: When a site is
replaced, all cards played on or stacked on the old
site are moved to the new site.

The additional rule is not the rule itself, but the exception. Very few cards replace a site behind the fellowship. Most cards that play a site play the site in front of the fellowship. (For example: Thror's Map or Pathfinder) These cards are not a problem when it comes to site control because you can not control a site until both fellowships have moved passed it.

However, cards like Ulairë Neyla, Lieutenant of Morgul can spot and
replace a site that the fellowship has long since forgotten. And since the fellowships have already passed the site, that means the site can be
controlled. Ulairë Neyla would be far too powerful if it was able to discard stacked minions on controlled sites by using his gametext to replace the site. In 1v1 play, your Shadow cards should never be able to directly affect your opponent's Shadow cards like this. The exception to the rule was added to show that replacing a site is not the same as removing it from play.

losing the game – site control
When a player loses the game and some of his sites
are controlled by other players, replace those sites
according to the procedure from the Starter
Rulebook. /b

Two multiplayer rulings in the same FAQ! This must be a record. (= But in all seriousness it was a question that had to be addressed. When a player loses in multiplayer all of their cards are removed from the game, and any sites on the site path are replaced with sites from the remaining players, in accordance to the following procedure.

Remove his sites on the adventure path in numerical order,
and replace each one with an opponent’s corresponding
site, in counter-clockwise order starting with the player on
his right. [TT Starter Rulebook, pg. 33, Losing the Game.]

So sites that have been controlled are still considered to be controlled, but they will be replaced with sites from the remaining players.

may not take wounds
If a character may not take wounds, wounds may not
be assigned to that character.

Sometimes the concept of not being able to take wounds confuses players. When a card can not take wounds for reasons like Saruman's gametext or Broad-bladed Sword, you can not assign them wounds either. In other words you can not say, I'll assign the 20 archery wounds to my Uruk Soldier with a Broad-bladed Sword and not take any wounds. If you have 20 archery you need to find some place to put those wounds, no matter what. If the only characters on the table are Saruman and minions with Broad-bladed Swords then you're fine. Sometimes this protection helps you, sometimes it hurts you.

site control
The game text of a controlled site cannot be used by
any player, since a site’s game text may not be used
unless the fellowship is there. Exception: The
keywords of a controlled site still apply, so a player
may 'control a battleground.'

Like a site on the adventure path, a controlled site
card is always active and may be spotted. When your
opponent controls a site from your adventure deck,
it’s still your site.

Cards like Úlairë Nelya can replace a controlled site.
Move any cards (such as Dunlending Looters) from
the site being replaced to the new site, and return the
old site to its owner's adventure deck.

Early on there was some confusion about sites being controlled and active at the same time. In reality, site control is very simple to understand. A site that has been controlled is treated just like a site on the adventure path. The only difference is the location on the table. (On the site path vs. in someone's support area.) This means that the gametext is active, but not usable unless the fellowship is at that site. And as I mentioned before, you can never have a fellowship at a site that's been controlled.

Currently it is not possible in official tournament play, but perhaps in the future or during league games, it might happen that a card copies the gametext of a site. (For example, Hobbit Farmer from the Fellowship of the Ring set.) Even after the fellowship has left site 1, the Hobbit Farmer is able to copy the gametext of the site. The FPP is then able to use that gametext, not becuase the site is active, but because the ally is active and the FPP is actually using the gametext from the Farmer. An ally would not be able to copy the gametext of a site if the gametext wasn't always active.

Being active and being able to use it are two separate things. Just ask my boss at work? (=

Each wound a character has reduces its vitality by 1.
When a character’s vitality is reduced to zero, that
character is immediately killed. (Reducing a
character’s strength to zero does not kill that

Example: Aragorn has three wounds, reducing his
printed vitality of 4 to 1. When Leechcraft is played
on him, his vitality is reduced to zero and he is
immediately killed.

First off, pay no intention to the example. It is incorrect. Having your strength reduced to 0 does not mean you're killed immediately. For the most part, strength of 0 is only significant during a skirmish. It looks like the rules guys thought Leechcraft subtracted 1 from vitality rather than strength.

Currently there are no cards that subtract from the vitality of a
character. However, consider Gimli with a few Endurance of Dwarves on him. He can have a vitality of up to 7!! After taking 3 wounds he now has a vitality of 4. If those conditions are discarded, Gimli would immediately die because he normally has 3 vitality and the 3 wounds subtract 1 vitality each. If Boromir with no special cards on him has 2 wounds, he is considered to have a vitality if 1. Now if there existed a card that created a -1 vitality modifier, and it was played on Boromir then he would die. His vitality would be 2 and the 2 wounds on him subtract 1 each.
Done!!! We did it! For those of you that actually made it through the
entire FAQ with me, I congratulate you. It took me 2-3 sittings myself. (= I hope that I was able to make these entries a little more clearer for you and that the examples helped you relate these entries to likely game situations. Like I said, this was the first FAQ since the new expansion released and there was lots of information in it. Hopefully, they next one will be a lot easier. (= Until then, have fun and I hope to see you at a tournament soon.

Rate Article

Discuss Article

Click here to discuss this article in forum or leave comments for the author.

RSS feed RSS Feed

This article is provided to you by CardShark.com - A Better Way to Buy and Sell Collectable Games Online. Please check out the rest of our site - you won't be disappointed.

View More ArticlesView More Articles